Davenport—Grace Bjustrom of Eldridge has been named as the 2020 recipient of the Thomas K. Evans Memorial Scholarship.

Bjustrom, a soon-to-be graduate of North Scott High School (Eldridge), will receive $5,000 toward tuition, room and board at Iowa State University (Ames), where she plans to study agricultural engineering and marketing in the fall.

“Grace has an impressive academic record, and she wowed us with her involvement in STEM activities. She also has met significant challenges in her life with much determination and the will to succeed. We are so pleased to present her with this year’s scholarship,” said Amy Lank, president of American Power Systems, Inc. (APS), which funds the award.

Grace Bjustrom

Because of current COVID-19 social distancing guidelines, Bjustrom was recognized via video chat in lieu of the usual scholarship reception held at APS company headquarters in Davenport.

Bjustrom and the rest of her class are finishing their senior year through distance learning and will graduate with a drive-through ceremony followed by a parade. She is the daughter of Larry and Carolyn Bjustrom of Eldridge.

The Thomas K. Evans Memorial Scholarship is a merit-based, one-time gift for new college entrants pursuing education in science, technology, engineering and math. It was founded in 2017 to encourage bright, creative young people to achieve and excel, and to help them change the world for the better.

The scholarship is named for the late Thomas Keenan Evans, a local engineer and entrepreneur who in 2006 founded American Power Systems, Inc., which designs and manufactures DC power systems for armored, defense, security, commercial and marine vehicles.

Scholarship information is online at www.americanpowerinc.com/scholarship. Details about the 2021 award will be posted in November and shared via the scholarship’s Facebook page, www.facebook.com/TKEmemorialscholarship.


Sean Leary is an author, director, artist, musician, producer and entrepreneur who has been writing professionally since debuting at age 11 in the pages of the Comics Buyers Guide. An honors graduate of the University of Southern California masters program, he has written over 50 books including the best-sellers The Arimathean, Every Number is Lucky to Someone and We Are All Characters.