Davenport Community School District was honored with the Iowa Recycling Association’s (IRA) Best Sustainability & Education Program award. The award was presented in Cedar Rapids at the annual Iowa Recycling and Solid Waste Management Conference on October 5, 2021.

Davenport Community School District’s environmentally friendly practices started decades ago and their efforts are still going strong. In Davenport CSD Sustainability Efforts Win State Award2019, they were awarded the U.S. Department of Education’s Green Ribbon School District Sustainability Award and was one of only five school districts nationwide to receive a Center for Green Schools District Scholarship Award.

The district has been increasing their sustainability efforts by improving indoor environmental quality during the pandemic, installing water bottle filling stations, reducing food waste, and implementing their recycling program. Recently, milk-carton shaped bins were provided for their elementary school cafeterias through a grant from the Carton Council. Recycling the milk cartons diverts almost 375,000 lbs. of waste per year.

Davenport Community School District continues to not only increase their recycling efforts, but to educate others on how to recycle through their district’s sustainability website and newsletter. “Their innovation and commitment provide great examples for others in the industry,” said IRA President Alan Schumacher.

Davenport Community School District’s award was one of three presented by the IRA. Other awards presented in Cedar Rapids were given to Alliant Energy – Best Waste Diversion Program and General Mills – Best Waste Reduction Efforts. Winners were selected by a committee of industry professionals.

For more information about the Iowa Recycling Association Awards visit: www.iowarecycles.org/awards.


Davenport CSD Sustainability Efforts Win State Award
Sean Leary is an author, director, artist, musician, producer and entrepreneur who has been writing professionally since debuting at age 11 in the pages of the Comics Buyers Guide. An honors graduate of the University of Southern California masters program, he has written over 50 books including the best-sellers The Arimathean, Every Number is Lucky to Someone and We Are All Characters.